Skip To Content


Star Trek Beyond Wins at Makeup Artists and Hair Stylists Guild Awards

February 20, 2017

The Makeup Artists and Hair Stylists Guild Awards spread the wealth in its feature categories, with Suicide Squad, Star Trek Beyond, La La Land, Hail, Caesar! and Noctural Animals receiving one award apiece.

Suicide Squad (MUAHS winner for best period and/or character makeup in a feature) and Star Trek Beyond (MUAHS winner for best special makeup effects in a feature) are additionally nominated for the Oscar in makeup and hair styling, alongside Sweden’s A Man Called Ove, which is also an Academy Award contender in the best foreign language film category.

Sunday at The Novo by Microsoft at L.A. Live, the Make-up Artists and Hair Stylists Guild Awards also recognized several projects in the TV categories with two awards apiece. That included American Horror Story: Roanoke (which received a third trophy for its promo), Game of Thrones, WestworldThe People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story, as well as So You Think You Can Dance: The Next Generation, which was honored for children and teen programming.

During the ceremony, Ryan Murphy received the Distinguished Artisan Award, presented by Darren Criss. Additionally, Emmy-nominated makeup artist Leonard Engelman and Oscar and Emmy-nominated hair stylist Barbara Lorenz (La La Land) received lifetime achievement awards.

In all, awards were presented in 23 categories honoring makeup artists and hair stylists in motion pictures, television, commercials and live theater.

Feature Motion Picture: Best Special Makeup Effects

Star Trek Beyond – Makeup Artists: Joel Harlow, Richie Alonzo WINNER

Deadpool – Makeup Artists: Bill Corso, Andrew Clement

Doctor Strange – Makeup Artist: Jeremy Woodhead

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Makeup Artist: Fae Hammond

Suicide Squad – Makeup Artists: Christopher Nelson, Sean Sansom, Greg Nicotero